Sibford is one of six Quaker Schools in England and a member of Friends’ Schools Council (FSC). It is a company limited by guarantee, incorporated in 1997. Historically the school was owned by three ‘Owning Meetings’ which, each June, appointed representatives to Sibford General Meeting. The purpose of this General Meeting is to lay down the rules by which the school is governed, and also to appoint Members of School Committee (the Governing Body and Trustees) who monitor the running of the school. Sibford General Meeting is still held each year. At this meeting, school officers present an annual report and the school accounts and hope to strengthen links between the School and the Society of Friends. However, the long term strategic management of the school is now in the hands of School Committee, which meets more regularly and devolves some of its functions to the Head.


School Committee – The Governing Body

Sibford School’s Governing Body is known as ‘School Committee’. The School address is the registered office of School Committee.

The full School Committee meets three times a year, while two sub-committees (‘Finance and Premises’ and ‘School Life’) meet on a further three occasions, usually on a Saturday.

Most members of the governing body are ‘Friends’ (that is members of the Religious Society of Friends, or Quakers), nominated through a committee set up by Sibford General Meeting, which meets annually. School Committee is also supported by two Old Scholar representatives and two parents.

The chair of the governing body is known as the Clerk of School Committee; this post is currently held by Seren Wildwood. Seren has been a Quaker for over 40 years. She works as a registrar of births, deaths, marriages and civil partnerships, and her favourite hobby is Dartmoor letterboxing (Google it!). Seren can be contacted via the school office (telephone 01295 781200) or by emailingJulia Morel, Head’s PA.

Other members of School Committee are:

Richard Cziborra (Treasurer)

Richard Bee (Clerk Finance & Premises & parent)

Sally Bicheno (Clerk School Life)

Sarah Lane

Helena Scott

Kate Merry (Safeguarding and Child Protection Link)

Margaret Shelley (Old Scholar)

Les Robinson

Kat Davison

Stuart Fowler (parent)

Philip Jones

Roger Chapman

Julian Rees

Amanda Brown (Old Scholar)

Fred Sessa

Any member of the School Committee can be contacted via the school office or by emailing Julia Morel, the Head’s PA.

Staff Attenders at School Committee are: Toby Spence, Tracy Knowles,  John Charlesworth and Edward Rossiter.


17th January 2019
  • Drum evening (Ensemble Room)
    Starts: 5:45 pm
18th January 2019
  • Banbury Young Musician of the Year Heats
    Starts: 12:00 am
  • PSFA Coffee Morning (small dining room)
    Starts: 8:30 am
  • Early Years Stay & Play session
    Starts: 10:30 am
  • Music Meeting
    Starts: 3:40 pm
  • Year 9 Parents Evening to discuss GCSE options
    Starts: 4:30 pm
19th January 2019
  • Banbury Young Musician of the Year Heats
    Starts: 12:00 am
24th January 2019
  • Year 7 Entry Day
    Starts: 8:30 am
25th January 2019
  • Year 7 Entry Day
    Starts: 8:30 am
  • JS Celebration Meeting - Holocaust Week
    Starts: 3:40 pm
26th January 2019
  • Scholarship Assessment Day for Year 7 entry in September 2019
    Starts: 8:30 am
28th January 2019
  • JS SFL Parent/Teacher Meetings
    Starts: 12:00 am